Project Timeline

Course – RHE 312: Writing in Digital Environments
Instructor – Justin Hodgson
Semester – Fall 2009
School – The University of Texas at Austin

MULTIMEDIA RESEARCH ESSAY PROJECT – COURSE TIMELINE
(Class met for 75 minute class periods, twice a week)

Day 1 :: 10/6/09 (Tuesday)
– Assigned project and discuss potential topics, options, direction.

Day 2 :: 10/8/09 (Thursday)
– Introduction to Multimedia Composing.
> Showed promotional Sophie video and Sophie Examples.

Day 3 :: 10/13/09 (Tuesday)
– Discussed alternative platforms.  Topic Selection Workshops.  Topics Due.

Day 4 :: !0/15/09 (Thursday)
– Guided research and “writing.”

Day 5 :: 10/20/09 (Tuesday)
– Studio 1: MRE Part 1
> Introduced basics of Sophie (and gave them time to work with it)

Day 5 :: 10/22/09 (Thursday)
– Studio 2: MRE Part 2
> Advancing Sophie (“tricks of the trade”; gave them time to work with it)

Day 6 :: 10/27/09 (Tuesday)
– MRE Draft 1 due (Peer Review in class)
> Included discussion of Working with Sources (multimedia and print)

Day 7 :: 10/29/09 (Thursday)
– Studio 3:  Guided MRE Work (instructor assistance as needed)

Day 8 :: 11/3/09 (Tuesday)
– MRE Draft 2 due (Peer Review in class)
> Revising MREs and Guided MRE work

Day 9 :: 11/5/09 (Thursday)
– MRE due.  Discuss MRE Experience.